TWC width=

DCCCD honors student scholars, leaders

  • Sharebar

Dallas South Newswire (DCCCD)

Role models often are adults who inspire students, children and their friends to help others and contribute to their communities.  Seven Dallas County Community College District students are turning that perception around, demonstrating their ability to serve as role models because they are making a difference where they live and go to school.

Some have served as scout leaders, AVID volunteers and tutors: others have led high school athletic teams, overcome learning disabilities to succeed or served as elementary school teaching assistants.  They have inspired other students, as well as DCCCD faculty, staff and administrators; as a result, these seven individuals have been named 2010-2011 LeCroy Scholarship recipients by the DCCCD Foundation for their outstanding leadership and academic achievements.  The program honors DCCCD’s former chancellor, Dr. R. Jan LeCroy, who served in that capacity from 1981 to 1988.  Each LeCroy Scholar receives up to $4,000 ($1,000 per semester, with a maximum of four semesters) to attend any one of DCCCD’s seven colleges: Brookhaven, Cedar Valley, Eastfield, El Centro, Mountain View, North Lake or Richland.

The LeCroy Scholars fund was made possible by a grant established in 1988 by Mike A. Myers and the Mike Myers Foundation.  A long-time Dallas business and civic leader, he provided funds to recognize LeCroy’s leadership; the program was the first major student recognition and incentive scholarship created for DCCCD.  Myers currently is chairman and president of the Myers Financial Corporation.

The scholarship recipients, the colleges they attend and their chosen fields of study are:

  • Rachael Bergman of Garland, Eastfield College, marine biology/environmental science;
  • Saile Estrada of Farmers Branch, Brookhaven College, sociology;
  • Ana Juarez of Carrollton, Brookhaven College, civil engineering;
  • Thong H. Luong of Dallas, Richland College, kinesiology;
  • Lacey Wells of Rowlett, Eastfield College, education; and
  • Matthew Wilson of Richardson, Richland College, business.

Five other DCCCD students are returning 2009-2010 LeCroy Scholars as well:

  • Taylor Eubanks of Coppell, North Lake College, business;
  • Melody Sadjadi of Dallas, Brookhaven College, nursing; and
  • Hannah Smith of Farmers Branch, Brookhaven College, business.

Anyone who is interested in learning more about how to apply for a DCCCD LeCroy Scholarship can visit

Categories: DCCCD, Education
Average Joe
View rental listings for Dallas TX Apartments and surrounding areas: UMoveFree Partner Dallas TX Apartments

Dallas Apartments

Log in / Advanced NewsPaper by Gabfire Themes